Percolate

Here are a few quick hits on my experience with the social media startup Percolate in beta, which I’ve been using for just over 24 hours on the web and iPad thanks to the awesome generosity of Noah (Brier, co-founder), who was super-accommodating with setting things up.

Percolate screenshot

You can read about Percolate and see some screenshots on Mashable, What’s Next Marketing, as well as on Percolate’s own blog.

It sounds like one of the passions behind Percolate is to make publishing more comfortable. Kudos to that – you can feel it. I didn’t want to lurk here, and it’s simple to use. Instead, I jumped into “My Brew,” which is culled from my Twitter and Google Reader streams, and allows my to rate and comment on them, “percolating” them into a different stream that I can share with others (as well as read what they’re percolating, too).

Here are my initial, somewhat impulsive, first thoughts. And, of course, Percolate is just in beta, and being updated.

So what else would I want to see?

a manual “new brew” button — mixes up my brew and gives me a fresh set of sources to read.

more enabled discovery – posting and voting could open up other possibilities for me to follow. One way that Percolate would stay in rotation is that it shows me what I might have missed on other social media.

a shared brew – a brew that changes based on the people I follow, and mixes in some of their sources and also their posts, so that I comment on other posts, too.

connections – I think My Brew either needs to contain everything from my connections, or be an almost completely new set based on them. I’m still going to be on Twitter or Flipboard, and want to go to Percolate to mix it up, but don’t want to see the same sources on Percolate as well. I also don’t want to feel like I’m “missing something,” like when my RSS feed doesn’t sync right.

a functional search box for new sources based on keywords I choose.

a messaging system, so that I can communicate with others within Percolate.

a third column – one for my percolating stream, one for people I am following, one for my brew. I like to see what I’ve posted and have it front and center.

smaller brew elements – I found myself scrolling down quite a bit in order to review a just a few more sources.

Looking forward to using Percolate more and seeing how it develops. Seems like there’s a lot of passion and thought behind it.

Leave a Reply

